My newest Veggie Melange

Here are some of the beautful, organic veggies I got at the market last week (truth in blogging: the russet was an organic from the grocery store, ditto the onion.)
Here's what I did with them.

Mim's veggie melange
I baked the potato and set the insides aside.
Cut up the onion and the garlic (I had green garlic) and saute in olive oil until soft (don't let the garlic burn.) While that's cooking, cut the kale and spinach into strips, and cube the squash. First add the kale, and mix, cooking about 3 minutes, then add the spinach and the squash. Add a t water stir and cover cooking over a low heat for 5 minutes. Stir so the mix doesn't stick to the bottom of the pan. Add the potatoes and stir together with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste. Cook over low heat, stirring to keep from sticking, until squash is soft. 
I served this with veggie "riblets" and Chuck who is not a vegetarian and doesn't particularly like greens or squash said that this was a gourmet dish. Yum!
Try it, let me know what adaptations you make, if any, and how you liked it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

