5th of July party….oops!

The plan was for a lovely, big, neighbor, friends and, of course, family, gathering on the 5th of July. We planned to celebrate my birthday, Chuck's birthday, the country's birthday, etc. You get the picture! Well, rain was predicted, and it did rain early in the day, but by 6 p.m. it was clear and guests began to arrive. Both our yard and Jack's were all set for the happy time we planned. Then, OOOPS! I sliced the end of my finger instead of the eggplant I was hoping to pop onto the grill. Aaaagh! Major OUCH! Lots of blood. First aid was administered by Jack, who said, you'd better have  doctor look at this. Darn! I guess it looked bad…I hadn't looked at it at that point. SO Chuck and I walked down the alley to the handy-dandy block away hospital emergency room where we waited a looong time, with Chuck's stomach growling for grilled yummy-ness. I text messaged a relative to update guests. The party carried on. Two hours later, we returned to the start of a down pour with the guests that were still there, rushing to bring stuff into our house. Chuck missed out on his grilled hamburger, none left, but we did get to try Sara's delicious quiche made with kale and turnips. My Chocolate and Zucchini cake was a hit, ditto the caponata (see recipes in previous post.) My finger was throbbing but I've been through worse, so it's not horrible. Okay, so the wound does look horrible and I'm sparing you the photos I took. The doc said that it's be 4 weeks before I would be okay, huh? No stitches because the wound is in an awkward place (nail and finger involvement) and I just need to keep it bandaged and out of harms way. Typing is a bit difficult and piano playing is out. But, it could be worse!  Happy belated 4th of July!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5th of July party….oops!

  1. micawave says:

    Ouchie! At least they didn't have to amputate ; )

  2. Mim says:

    You're right! And I'm glad that I, myself, didn't amputate it. It's "fun" typing with the bulging bandage and seeing some odd spelling created.

Leave a Reply

