Tomato especial~

This tomato was saved for me last week, because one of our CSA members knows how much I enjoy vegetables that are interesting looking. The first photos is my favorite of my images. The last one calls for some "googly" eyes, yes? Here's a bit of tomato history: the word is derived from a Mayan word, xtomatl. No one is sure how that was pronounced. It was first cultivated by the Aztecs and Incas. Italians were the first Europeans to begin eating tomatoes followed by the Spanish and French. The tomato wasn't widely accepted as food until about 1850. Wow, that is SO recent when you think about history.

Tomato1Tomato2Tomato3Tomato4

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

