Eggplant Caviar

I was reminded of this recipe in a post on French word a day by Kristin Espinasse. My mother used to make this when I was a child and I didn't care for it very much. Now, as an adult, I wish I'd watched closely and copied down the recipe. This recipe is from a cookbook by Joan Nathan, and is close to the one that I remember.

1 large eggplant (about a pound)
1 clove garlic, mashed
3 scallions, diced (mom used regular onions)
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
3 Tablespoons olive oil (I think mom used a simple vegetable oil)
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon of dried mint (I don't remember mom using mint, I think she added parsley) Salt to taste and add a dash of cayenne, if you like.

Prick eggplant and roast in oven until extremely soft inside (extremely soft!) Mix the rest of the ingredients in a glass or ceramic bowl (not metal.) Peel the eggplant (hard to do so I just scoop the insides out) and place in a strainer. Press out the liquid. Chop the pulp into chunks and mix with the other ingredients. Taste and adjust seasonings.

Photo of Eggplants by: Mim (me)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

