Vegetable Soup Stock

I'm using the basic stock recipe from Deborah Madison's book: Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, to make my matzah ball soup for our big Passover dinner on Saturday evening. The house smells delicious. Joe, who's doing some repair work for us, just came in saying that I'm going to have a line of people outside soon, who'll want some soup. The smells are wafting outside since I have the back door open to the screened in porch. Besides the photos of the soup ingredients, I have to show you how the helibores are doing in the front of the house. Lovely springtime.

IMG_2103IMG_2100IMG_2099IMG_2096IMG_2090

1 large onion, 2 large carrots, 2 celery ribs & leaves, 1 T olive oil, 8 garlic cloves (peeled and smashed,) fresh parsley, fresh dill, 2 bay leaves, salt.  I increased all but the garlic and bay leaves. 
Cut the veggies up in chunks. Heat the oil in a large pot and add the veggies and seasonings except dill & bay leaves. Heat over high heat for 5 to 10 minutes stirring so they don't burn. The darker color they get, the richer the broth. Add 2 quarts of water (I added more because I have lots of veggies.) Add bay leaves and dill. Bring to a boil, lower heat and simmer uncovered for 30 to 40 min. Strain. I put the carrots and celery back into the broth. On Saturday, I'll make the matzah balls and add to the soup. Yum. No one knows that a chicken didn't take any part in this soup, except that I tell them!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetable Soup Stock

  1. Ethan Stull says:

    In it something is. Earlier I thought differently, thanks for an explanation.

  2. Mari Vega says:

    I remember a day trying to make vegan matzah ball soup, and couldn't get it without adding eggs!This sounds lovely. What's your recipe for matzah balls?

Leave a Reply

