Brown Sugar Toffee Cake

photo 3

Brown Sugar Toffee Cake

        (June 2010, Vegetarian Times)

The secret to success with this lighter version of a brown sugar pound cake is having all the ingredients at room temperature and beating the batter 2 to 3 minutes, or until light and fluffy. Service with vanilla ice cream.

1 ½ Cups of all-purpose flour

¼ t baking soda

1/8 t baking powder

1/8 t salt

6 T butter, softened

1 C dark brown sugar

½ C sugar

2 eggs, at room temperature

¼ C cold strong coffee

1 t vanilla extract

½ C plain fat-free yogurt, at room temperature*

3 milk chocolate-toffee bars, such a Heath brand**

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F. Coat a 9” round cake pan with cooking spray.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in large bowl and set aside.
  3. In a separate large bowl, beat butter, brown sugar, and sugar with electric mixer until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time and then beat in coffee and vanilla extract. Add ¼ C yogurt, and beat until smooth. Add half the flour mix and beat until smooth. Beat in remaining ¼ C yogurt, then remaining flour mixture. Beat 2 to 3 minutes until very smooth and creamy.
  4. Spread batter in prepared cake pan and bake 35 to 40 min, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes in pan.
  5. Meanwhile, pulse milk chocolate toffee bars in food processor 8 times or until crushed into bits. Some will be larger than others, but that’s okay. Unmold cake from pan and set on wire rack. Sprinkle chocolate-toffee bits on top of cake while it’s hot. Cool completely before serving.

* I used whole milk plain yogurt in my version as it’s all I had. **I couldn’t find Heath candy bars so I used 2 large bars of very expensive Belgian chocolate, toffee almond milk chocolate. I can’t remember the brand but it’s the one with x’s and o’s on the wrapper.   My husband said that I had to freeze it quickly so he wouldn’t eat it all in one sitting. I gave a piece to my son and his girlfriend. My son said it was the best cake he’s ever had, his new favorite.

Update – made this today 6.21.2012. I used zero fat Greek Yogurt and Heath bars, this time. Also, I made my own brown sugar by adding blackstrap unsulphured molasses to organic sugar.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brown Sugar Toffee Cake

  1. Mari Vega says:

    wowee, sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

