BANANA CAKE

 

BC1BC2BC3BC4

BANANA CAKE

(1965 Settlement Cookbook)

         -Interesting that this cake is smaller than current cake recipes, I guess everything has been “super sized.”

 

½ C butter

1 ¼ C sugar

2 eggs

1 t baking soda

4 T sourcream

1 C banana pulp, mashed

1 ½  C cake flour *

¼ t salt

1 t vanilla

 

Preheat oven to 350F. Cream butter and sugar, add eggs, very lightly beaten, and the soda dissolved in the sour cream. Beat well and add bananas, flour, salt and vanilla. Mix well. 

Bake in well-greased and floured 8” square or a 9” tube pan for 35 to 45 min. Frost with favorite frosting. I used chocolate from the back of the Hershey’s cocoa box, but lemon or coffee flavoring is recommended by cook book.

  • I didn’t have cake flour so used regular flour with this change = measure the flour then remove 3 T of it.

I had all the ingredients at room temperature, which I read about doing in another recipe, and I beat the batter for 2 full minutes. The cake was light and not too sweet. We brought it to dinner at friends' home and it was served with homemade fig ice cream. Everyone liked it and liked the combination of flavors.I

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BANANA CAKE

  1. dharmadada says:

    Could you send me one?

Leave a Reply

