Vegan Tea Cake

This vegan cake recipe was sent to me many years ago by my friend Mercedes, who got it from Kari Love. It was titled: Darjeeling Lemon Cake. This is a photo of the cake made by Ryan this past weekend. I put out all the ingredients (sous chef work) and he made the cake. He’s allergic to eggs so he loves that he can have a vegan cake.

RECIPE: Makes ONE 8″ or 9″ layer. Oil pan (I used spray on) Preheat oven to 350F (175C)

1 Cup strong darjeeling tea (let cool before using) 1/3 C oil, 1 t white or rice vinegar, 1/2 t vanilla, 1 & 3/4 C flour, 1 C sugar, 1/2 t salt, 1 t baking soda, 1 t tea leaves (left over from making the tea.)

Mix dry ingredients, then stir in wet stuff. Mix well to distribute the vinegar, then throw into an oiled pan to bake for 40 minutes. Cover the cake with aluminum foil if it’s getting too brown. For the glaze, mix 1/2 C powdered sugar with a generous tablespoon of fresh lemon juice and spread it over the cooled cake.

The cake is delicious, light and fluffy. I used powdered sugar on this latest version rather than a glaze. I’ve used Earl Gray tea and a vanilla glaze, too. Try it with any tea you like and let me know how it turns out.  Thanks Ryan for being the dessert chef!

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Tea Cake

  1. Felicity says:

    I’ve been on the look out for egg-free baked goods, this looks good!

  2. lilyankeefan says:

    Was sooooo yummy. Proud of my lil yankee fan!

Leave a Reply

