Shelley’s Surprise Bread

Shelley’s Surprise Bread recipe comes from this cookbook, my first vegetarian cookbook, which was first published in 1973 by Arrowhead Mills. I used to make this bread.

Yield 2 – 9 x 5 loaves

1 C warm water and 2 T dry yeast or 2 cakes fresh yeast.

3/4 C milk, 3/4 C water, 1 T sea salt, 1/2 C honey, 3 eggs (beaten) 1/2 C unrefined corn germ oil (I think I used regular veggie oil) 7 C stone-ground whole wheat flour (I think I used regular whole wheat flour)

Optional: 1/2 wheat germ,1/4 C non-instant dry  milk (mixed with the flour)

Dissolve the yeast in the warm water. Stir in milk, water, salt, and honey. Add the eggs, oil, and half the flour. Mix well, then add remaining flour by working with your hands.

Turn the dough onto a lightly floured board. Allow dough to rest for about 10 minutes (while you clean up – that’s what the book suggests .) Knead for 5 minutes. Place in oiled bowl. Cover the dough with a damp cloth and allow it to rise until doubled. Punch down and let rise again for 30 minutes more.

Divide dough in half. Shape dough into 2 loaves. Place in oiled loaf pans or shape into round loaves and place on oiled baking sheets. Cover the loaves with a damp cloth and let rise until double.

Bake  30 to 40 min. at 350F.  Cool on a rack.

The crusts will stay soft if you wrap the loaves in plastic or waxed paper as soon as they are cool enough to touch, or wrap them in dish towels after removing from the oven.

Addording to Shelley, the surprise is that Shelley can cook at all.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shelley’s Surprise Bread

  1. Jan says:

    My “Deaf Smith Country Cookbook” is packed away in storage somewhere and I was so glad to find this recipe online! This was my first health food cookbook (the other favorite was “Diet for a Small Planet”). I won a blue ribbon at our county fair with this (thanks, Shelley!) and it was always a hit with dinner guests. In fact we had to warn them about eating too much because if you’re not used to that much fiber you get another kind of surprise 🙂

    We used so many Arrowhead Mills products during the years my children were growing up that we stopped by the mill when we were in Texas on a vacation. I called to see if we could take a tour, and next thing we knew, Frank Ford (the founder) invited our family to stay with him and Marjorie (the author of the cookbook) for a few days. They were gracious, caring people and it made me want to use the products even more 🙂

    Jan

Leave a Reply

