PESTO

PESTO

I got some beautiful basil at my farmer’s market and decided it was time for PESTO making.
I didn’t have any pine nuts, as usual. I’ve used cashews in the past, but didn’t have any of those, so I used what I had, almonds and pecans.
So here’s my current recipe, and it turned out great!

3 Cups of fresh basil leaves
some grated parmesan, about 2 T (mine was coarsely shredded with my mueli grater and was maybe a tad more than this. I think you can do more or less.)
3 cloves of garlic
1/3 cup of nuts (I slivered my whole almonds and broke the pecan halves into bits to make work easier in the processor)
1/8 C water
1/8 C olive oil, or more as you like
½ teaspoon of lemon juice
salt

Process the nuts in your machine (I used a food processor but a blender will work) then add some water, and blend more. After that I added the cheese and garlic and processed a bit before gradually adding the basil leaves. Add your lemon juice (or not) and then gradually add the olive oil & some salt. Taste. Add more olive oil until you get the texture and taste you like.
You can easily play with the proportions.

This is very yummy! And healthy.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

