Veggie Flan

I went to the first CSA pick up of veggies at the farmers’ market. It was so nice to have farm fresh veggies again.

For dinner, I made a vegetable flan based on the old quiche recipe that I remembered.

We had some vegetables on hand and I used those.  I think any leftover veggies would work nicely.

To a skillet, I added some olive oil, diced onions, smashed up garlic, cut up asparagus, yellow bell pepper, some corn off of left over corn on the cob, a bit of green onion, and the chopped up fresh kale. I cooked all of this, on medium flame, until the veggies were soft. I seasoned with salt and pepper only but you can add herbs and spices to your taste.

While the veggies were cooking, I beat up 3 eggs, a cup of soy milk, a splash of heavy cream (which I just happened to have on hand) and some grated cheese, maybe a cup, left over from making quesadillas. You can adjust quantities depending on what you have on hand. I think this is a very adjustable type of dish.

When the veggies were soft, I let them cool a bit then added them to the egg/cheese mixture. I poured this into a lightly greased pie pan. NO crust folks, crustless.

Bake for 25 minutes at 350F. Check to see if the top is browning too much. If it is, cover with a piece of foil. Bake another 10 minutes until cooked through.

It turned out to be light in texture and very tasty. As I said above, you can vary the amount of everything. If you make this, let me know how it turned out and if you made variations of it. I’d love to hear from you.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veggie Flan

  1. Cath says:

    There is no way I wouldn’t love this. I’m not even bothered by your blog’s name. I love vegetables and quiche, together they make me very happy.

Leave a Reply

