Sweet and Sour Bean Salad

ImageOld Timey Sweet and Sour Bean Salad

1 can green beans
1 can wax beans (couldn’t find any of these so used great northern beans)
1 can baby limas (eliminated these)
1 can kidney beans

You can change these, I think, maybe add corn, or different beans. I used only 3 canned items the most recent time, this 4th of July.
Drain and rinse and put in a large bowl.

Add:
some cut up celery (I used about 3 stalks)
onion sliced thinly ( I used half a large onion, but put as little or much as you like)
salt & pepper (to taste)

Combine in a pan:
1 1/2 C sugar (I used only 1 C)
1 C vinegar (I reduced this slightly)
1/2 C vegetable oil (again, I reduced this slightly)

Bring to a boil and pour over the veggies while hot. Chill.
Put into jars and keep in refrigerator. Make a day before you plan to serve for best flavor.

This recipe comes from the 1982 Oyster Festival Silver Anniversary CookBook
Urbanna, Virginia. It was submitted by Mrs. Emory M. DeBusk (Jessie) and attributed to Mrs. Charles Allen, a West Virginia Heritage Recipe.

I love the old fashioned way of writing a woman’s name, well not really LOVE it, but it shows the old-timey-ness of this recipe. Women known by their husband’s names. We don’t even get to know Mrs. Allen’s first name though Mrs. DeBusk put her’s there in parentheses.

This is a delicious side dish for cold meals in the summer. Better than any you can buy in a jar. We love it. It doesn’t last very long in our house.

Let me know if you make it and how many of your guests wanted the recipe.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

