Yogurt Cake from Kristin Espinasse


YOGURT CAKE
The genius behind this cake is that there is no need to use measuring utensils. You need only reserve the yogurt container as a measure, once you’ve emtpied the contents into the bowl. 

Ingredients:
- one small (individual size) container of plain yogurt (reserve for measuring the remaining ingredients) 
- flour
- sugar
- vegetable oil
- three eggs (or two, if you prefer)
- one package baking powder SODA!(about 2 teaspoons)

Instructions (Easy as 3-2-1…):
Fill/empty the yogurt container…
   …3 times with flour
   …2 times with sugar
   …1 time with vegetable oil (if I’m out of vegetable oil, I’ll (Kristin) add half a cup of olive oil or butter…)

Tip:
First combine yogurt, beaten eggs & sugar. Next, add flour and baking soda, stir. Add a pinch of salt… Pour in oil and mix well Uncle Jacques (Kristin’s brother-in-law) recommends using “un fouet” (whisk) to mix the batter. Pour into a cake pan (or muffin tin) and bake for 45 minutes at 300°F

I (Mim) used a bundt pan, which I sprayed with an organic baking spray, and let the cake bake for an hour. I put foil on the top when it started to brown a bit. It took longer because of being in a tube pan, I think. Also, I saved a 6 oz. yogurt container & used Greek Yogurt from my larger container. I think that worked fine.  The cake has a nice texture and is not very sweet, which was a surprise.

Extras: Jacques  suggests adding sliced (canned) pears (drained from their syrop) to the top of the cake before baking. The pears will sink nicely into the cake for a sweet “second version”.
I (Kristin) sometimes mash up bananas and add them… or sneak in some grated zucchini.

I (Mim) added one smashed banana, which is all I had on hand.  I’ll make this cake again, for sure. Let me know if you try it.

P.S. Kristin Espinasse write’s a blog – French Word-a-day in which she shares a great deal about her life as an American married to a French man, living in the south of France.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

