Vegetarian Chili

lentils-brownmasoorVegetarian Chili
serves 4

1 T olive oil
1 onion, peeled and chopped
1 red bell pepper, de-seeded and chopped
1-2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 14-oz can of tomatoes
2 15 oz cans of kidney beans
1/2 C dried lentils, simmered in lots of water for 40-45 min, until tender
1 t mild paprika
1-2 T chili powder *
salt and pepper to taste
a little sugar
a pinch of baking soda

heat the oil in a large saucepan and saute the onion and pepper for 10 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for 1-2 min more. Add tomatoes.
drain the beans and lentils, reserving liquid, and add both to the tomato mixture.
Add paprika and chili powder, and baking soda
simmer for 15 min, adding bean water as needed for consistency. Add sugar. Taste and adjust salt and pepper.

NOTE: I often cook longer but then the lentils get a bit mushy. You may not want that. I have also added chopped up carrots along with the onions, especially when I don’t have red bell pepper.
*I usually don’t have chili powder so I add oregano, cayenne, and cumin to the pot instead. I think it’s the same thing. That way, I can also be more to my own taste with seasonings. I like cumin so I go heavy on that.
I tend to make this recipe double because it’s so good and is even better the next day.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

