Our Aunt Elna’s Apple Pie

photo 3-3

Preheat oven to 450 F

2 Cups flour
1/2 pound of cold butter (2 sticks)
1 beaten egg

3 pounds or more apples (assorted varieties)
1/2 C sugar (or a bit less)
2 T flour
1 t cinnamon

1/4 C brown sugar
3T room temperature butter
1/4 C lemon juice
additional sugar for sprinkling on top

– peel and cut apples into slices and put into a large bowl. Mix with the sugar, flour, and cinnamon.
-Blend the flour and butter until crumbs are formed ( I use a food processor to do this) After crumbs are made, add the beaten egg and process to form a dough ball.
DO NOT over process.
-Pat 1/2 of this mixture into the bottom of a large pie pan or a 13″ x 9″ pan.
DO NOT handle this dough too much.or the butter will get warm. We don’t want that to happen. Reserve remaining dough for top crust.
-Put the apples in the pan. On top of apples, put the brown sugar, bits of the butter, and the lemon juice.
-Take remaining dough and form into flattened pieces and place all over the top of the apples. There’ll be some empty spaces, which is okay. Sprinkle some sugar on the top.
-Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, or until apples test soft. If the crust is browning to much, cover the top with a piece of aluminum foil.

Let me know if you make this! Enjoy!

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Aunt Elna’s Apple Pie

  1. Cath says:

    Hi! How have you been? I’m trying the soda crackers recipe this week end. Have a good week ahead of you.

    • mim4mail says:

      Hi Cath, I wasn’t happy, in the end, with the soda crackers. They were too puffy which I know was because I didn’t roll them thin enough and they needed something – more salt. I might experiment with them a bit or try another recipe. I don’t want to give up completely on the idea of my grand girl and I baking together. Right now her mother is all about No to sugar in anything. yikes!

Leave a Reply

