Soda Crackers

cracker2

Since my grand-girl isn’t yet eating cookies or sugary things, I was looking for some kind of recipe we could use for her to roll dough. Crackers! That’s it! Sure enough, I found a recipe using old school method – I looked in one of my cookbooks! More-with-Less Cookbook, put out by the Mennonite Central Committee in 1976, which I got in 1980 according to my note inside. It’s full of recipes from all over the world, and some basic ones, like crackers.

Soda Crackers (with my variations)
Makes about 1/2 lb
375°f oven, 10-12 minutes
Preheat oven.

Combine in a bowl:
2 cups flour (I used regular white)
1 t salt
1/2 t baking soda

cut in – 2 T cold margarine (I used butter)

Stir in 2/3 Cup sour milk or buttermilk (I used buttermilk, available dried in the baking section of most grocery stores. However, I think one can substitute plain yogurt for this, or a nut milk) I added a dash of worcestershire sauce to the liquid. I think some hot sauce would be nice, if one likes spicy.

I added a cup of grated cheddar cheese, too.

Round dough into a ball and knead a few strokes. (I used my food processor for all of the above, gently and not over-doing it, I hope)

Divide dough into several pieces and roll out very thin on a floured board. (I’m not sure I rolled it thin enough but was unsure of what I was doing. Next time, I won’t be so afraid and will roll it thinner.)

Lay sheets on un-greased flat baking pan. Sprinkle with alt and prick with a fork.
Cut into 1 1/2″ pieces using a sharp knife or pizza cutter. (I wasn’t so precise with squares.)

Bake 10 – 12 minutes, or until lightly browned.

These puffed up! I liked the crispy edge ones, but my honey liked the middle pieces which were soft in the middle (not thin enough!) I was pleased with the results and think this will be a good recipe to make with the grand.

Try it and let me know what you think. It’s so basic and lends itself to personal touches.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

