Pimiento Cheese Spread – Southern USA goodness!

pimento cheese
A good old southern tradition from the pages of Southern Living Magazine 1986.
This is the very basic recipe. People change it up a bit and put in some Worcester sauce or onion flakes or other seasonings to their own taste. We like this very plain version.

16 oz of sharp cheddar cheese, grated finely (I use my food processor grating blade)
4 oz chopped pimientos (from a jar) drained
4 oz. cream cheese softened
1 C mayonnaise  ( I use Duke’s, it’s a southern tradition made right here in Richmond,         VA, USA)
1 T sugar
1/8 t ground pepper

Mix the pimientos with the cream cheese.
Then add all the remaining ingredients and mix it all up until it’s blended.
( I use my clean hands to do it. It’s much more efficient and I learned to do that from an old cafeteria lady when I was in collage working the lunch line at the student union, only we were mixing up a huge batch of cole slaw, but you get the idea.)

Chill a couple hours or overnight for the flavors to meld. Let come to room temperature to serve with some nice crackers of your choice OR use to make yummy grilled cheese sandwiches.

If you make this, let me know how you like it!

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pimiento Cheese Spread – Southern USA goodness!

  1. I will try your recipe. We ate pimento cheese sandwiches very often when I was a child. Yum.

Leave a Reply

