Simple Muffins

So the other day there was a nice, simple recipe for muffins in our local newspaper (Richmond Times Dispatch – Holly Prestidge),which I cut out. Yesterday, I decided to make them for my book club – all three of us reading a book in Spanish at my house, weekly!

muffins - minemuffins - newspaperThe image on the left is of MY muffins, what’s left of the dozen large and dozen small ones. The image on the right, is the photo from the newspaper. Hmmm, What made the difference. I’m not sure but perhaps because I used brown sugar or because I beat the eggs too much?  I’m going to try the recipe again and see what happens. The club members and my husband really liked them. Try the recipe and let me know how it goes for you.

Muffins – makes about 1 1/2 to 2 dozen

2 t baking powder, 1 t salt, 1/2 t baking soda, 2 cups all purpose flour, 1/2 C of sugar (I used light brown sugar loosely packed), 1/4 C vegetable oil, 1 large egg, 1/3 C milk (I used almond milk, recipe called for 2 % cows milk)

Heat oven to 350° and line muffin tins with paper liners.  In a large bowl, combine baking powder, salt, baking soda, flour and sugar.

In a small bowl, whisk oil, egg, and mill, and add to the dry ingredients. Mix just until combined. Do NOT overmix (I might have done this.)

Fill muffin cups and bake for 20 minutes. Serve warm. Which I didn’t. I served with butter and strawberry preserves.

Add ins – dried cranberries, chopped up nuts, coconut flakes

 

 

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

