Baked Tofu sesame

This is a recipe from a cook book that has been used a lot, and I never thought it would be ’cause it has no photographs in it! hah!

1 pound of firm tofu, drained   (I freeze my tofu first, then defrost, and drain, as I like the texture created)

2 T tamari soy sauce

1 T water

1 T freshly grated ginger (I never have any, so I use a dash of ground ginger)

2 t minced garlic

1 T sesame seeds

1/4 t ground star anise (recommended but optional, I never use this)

  1. Cut the tofu across the short end into slices about 1/4″ thick. Cut into triangles, if you like.
  2. In a large cast-iron skillet or a baking dish, combine the remaining ingredients. Place the tofu in the pan in one layer, cutting some pieces smaller to fit in, if necessary. Turn the pieces over once or twice in the marinade to coat.
  3. Bake uncovered in a 375F oven for 15 minutes. Turn over pieces and bake until the liquid is absorbed, about 10 minutes more.  Scrape up the sesame seeds stuck to the bottom and place on top when serving the tofu.

I first made this in Jan. of 1998 according to a note on the recipe page, and the words “very good.” And it is. Simple but tasty. Serve with rice, or in a wrap, or whatever you like. I eat it as a healthy snack, too.

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in beans, tofu, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

