Oatmeal Cookies

Cookies

I rediscovered a recipe that I’d downloaded in 2002. It was from Cooks Illustrated, a magazine that I love. They had experimented using the recipe on the back of the Quacker Oats box as their starting point. They were going for chewier, crisper, less dense. I made these today & think they’re now my favorite, go to recipe.

I halved their recipe. Made cookies a bit smaller, except the last 4, and yielded 2 dozen cookies.

I made some with pecans, some with pecans and chocolate chips, and the last four added raisins to the pecans and chips. All delicious.

Note: don’t over bake. Edges will be brown but rest of cookie light. I used parchment paper on baking sheets and removed cookies to cooling racks. If not using parchment, let cool on baking sheets for two minutes before transferring them to cooling rack.

Oven 350F

1 stick butter

½ C light brown sugar

½ C granulated sugar

1 egg

¾ C flour

½ t salt

½ t baking powder

Dash of cinnamon or nutmeg

1 ½ C rolled oats

Pecan pieces, raisins, chocolate chips. Optional

Beat butter til fluffy, add sugars. Beat about 3 minutes then add egg. Beat together.

Mix flour, baking powder, salt, & spices if using.

Add to butter mix. Stir with wooden spoon or spatula. Stir on oats and optional items.

Form into 2” balls(mine were smaller) and place on baking sheet.

Bake til edges brown. Recipe says 22-25 min. But I did 10 min. for smaller ones and last batch of four bigger ones, I did 12 minutes.

Cool 30 minutes on Rack.

Taste tested by my honey, who gave them two thumbs up.

Let me know if you try this recipe, and how it went for you.

 

About mim4mail

If I'd have known I'd be using this as my recipe blog, I'd have chosen a different name. Oh well. Bon Apetit! Artist, Wife, and Mother to 2 grown offspring, reader, learner, traveler, letter writer, member of IUOMA, The Letter Writers Alliance, and The League of Space Pirates, and other leagues, alliances, and associations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

